ILM Coaching Qualifications Explained

Who are the ILM?

The Institute of Leadership and Management (ILM) is the UK’s leading provider of leadership, coaching and management qualifications.

For over 20 years, the ILM has been part of the City and Guilds Group and provides recognised qualifications in the UK and internationally. This international scope means that ILM qualifications are recognised in all industries and sectors from businesses small and large to multinationals and government departments worldwide.

ILM coaching qualifications are recognised as a gold standard in coach development and in the coaching industry, and so are a trusted benchmark for quality in coaching. This is why so many organisations use ILM coaching training providers, such as Coaching Focus, to deliver ILM coaching training programmes for their staff, be that for team leaders, managers, senior leaders or HR/OD and Talent professionals.

The European Mentoring and Coaching Council (EMCC), an internationally recognised membership body for coaching and mentoring, also recognises ILM Coaching and Mentoring qualifications - allowing access to EMCC membership when the training is completed and certification is awarded. This means that ILM coaching qualifications are certified as being of the highest standard; also boasting the Government’s stamp of approval for recognised qualifications.

What are ILM Qualifications for?

ILM qualifications are aimed to develop individuals in the workplace, most often line managers and HR & LD professionals. They are designed to help improve their performance and productivity and that of their colleagues and staff. There is a strong focus on learning and practical application in the workplace, and not purely theoretical, meaning they have a high degree of practical application at work – another reason why they are so popular within organisations.

What are the ILM coaching qualification options?

ILM qualifications are awarded at different levels and at Coaching Focus we provide all three – levels 3, 5 and 7. This is a complete suite of coaching qualification requirements; from team leader (Level 3), senior manager (Level 5) and up to the Executive coach/HR professional (Level 7).

  • The ILM Level 3 coaching qualification is equivalent to A levels or NVQ/BTEC Level 3 and this level is most suited for team leaders and line managers who will be integrating coaching into their day-to-day way of working and want a qualification to reflect this capability.
  • The ILM Level 5 coaching qualification is equivalent to the second year of university study or BTEC and this level is most suited for senior managers and leaders. This qualification will not only enable them to integrate coaching into their day-to-day management style but is also designed for those who have been selected and asked to carry out formal internal coaching assignments as part of an organisation’s internal coaching pool.
  • ILM Level 7 coaching qualification is equivalent to post-graduate study or BTEC Advanced Diplomas. ILM Level 7 coaching certification is the highest level ILM coaching qualification. It is most suited to organisational coaching champions, and senior HR/OD/L&D professionals, as it involves looking at the strategy of coaching within an organisation. It is also most suitable to those wishing to become an Executive Coach and forms a solid foundation for external professional coaching practice.

What is an ILM Approved Centre?

The ILM are not a training provider, meaning all ILM qualifications are delivered through an international network of Approved ILM centres. Every centre is rigorously vetted for quality standards of delivery, effective administration processes and assessment capability before they can be registered as a centre.

They then must demonstrate that they are capable to deliver the programmes they promote ongoing and continue to ensure high standards of this delivery. Subsequently, they must also undertake regular inspections and bi-annual audits by the ILM to ensure the centre is maintaining these standards of education and training for its registered learners and clients.

Part of this process is to ensure that all the centre’s coach trainers and training facilitators are of high professional calibre, maintain regular and appropriate CPD and are well-versed with every aspect of the training programmes.

You can be confident that an organisation that has ILM approval is going to deliver a thorough, supportive and complete training programme.

Coaching Focus programmes

Coaching Focus meets every ILM standard and has been an ILM Approved Centre for a number of years.

We have an enviable record of success in delivering ILM coaching qualifications at Levels 3, 5 and 7 and we continue to lead the field in innovative, flexible training approaches that deliver a meaningful impact for both individuals and organisations.

For more information on our ILM Coaching qualifications, both for individuals or for an organisational solution, click the links below, or contact us on the form below.

ILM Level 3 Award in Effective Coaching

ILM Level 5 Certificate in Effective Coaching and Mentoring

ILM Level 7 Certificate for Executive and Senior Level Coaches and Mentors

Get in touch about our ILM Qualifications